6 thoughts on “STAYING IN TRUTH: EMBODYING NEW THOUGHT PRINCIPLES AT TIMES LIKE THESE

  1. Excellent post Jim, and applicable to all things under at these days.

    As a former journalist, I can affirm that the rule always was: check your source, and “know” your source. Additionally, the other question or place for investigative/critical thought was to “follow the money”. This speaks to your question of: ask who benefits.

    I’m personally grateful that critical thinking is now being taught in schools. While it doesn’t capture everybody, it does give me some level of confidence to know that the upcoming generations are being well-poised to handle the emerging complexities we face today.

    I recall when Photoshop arrived on the scene in the late 1980s, and remember taking about it with two photo editors at the Calgary Herald who were deeply concerned about how it’s capacity to manipulate and create false impressions, if left in the wrong hands. It took a while before the application was turned into a tool for false news generation, but it came.
    It is our collective responsibility now to learn from our past mistakes and ignorance and apply ethical principles as we move forward in this “brave” new world.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My favorite question is to ask myself about my biases. I think the battling cable news shows have given us a service in teaching what the same news looks like through battling lenses. It is a marvel to me and has taught me about when I have strong opinions about something. What I call truth is when I have a strong opinion that is aligned with love. Raised in this environment, I wonder how the younger generation will be leaps ahead in their abilities of discernment…great topic Dr. Jim!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are so right about the battling news outlets. After this last GOP debate I flipped through the news channels and found myself laughing because they would quote one of the candidates and say they were absolutely wrong and the next channel found the same quote absolutely correct. I know Rev. Jim said not to close yourself off from the news or events but in this case I turned off the news and watched a MASH rerun.

      Like

  3. Excellent article and especially timely in these fraught – and I would suggest, dangerous (for democracy) – times.

    I was thrilled to see you quoting Jack Hopkins!! He & I share a couple commonalities (beyond being concerned about democracy here in the USA): we were both US Navy Hospital Corps personnel ⚓️❤️

    Keep speaking truth & thanks for the read.

    Rebecca

    Like

  4. Pingback: I HAVE A LOT ON MY EMOTIONAL PLATE – HOW ABOUT YOU? PART 2 | New Thought Evolutionary

Leave a comment